Holland & Knight

800 17th Street, NW, Suite 1100 | Washington, DC 20006 | T 202.955.3000 | F 202.955.5564 Holland & Knight LLP | www.hklaw.com

Leila M. Batties 202.419.2583 leila.batties@hklaw.com

September 11, 2019

VIA IZIS

Board of Zoning Adjustment of the District of Columbia 441 4th Street, NW, Suite 210S Washington, DC 20001

Re: Application No. 20116 – Elee and Joseph Wakim

2705 11th Street, NW (Square 2858, Lot 18) Prehearing Statement

Dear Members of the Board:

On behalf of Elee and Joseph Wakim, the Applicant in the above-referenced application, we hereby submit the enclosed prehearing statement in support of a request for variance relief from the 900 square foot requirement of Subtitle U § 320.2(d) and the minimum parking size requirement of Subtitle C § 712.3, and for special exception relief pursuant to Subtitle X § 901.2 and Subtitle U § 320.2 to permit the conversion of a residential building to a three-unit apartment building in the RF-1 zone at premises 2705 11th Street, NW.

We look forward to the Board's consideration of this application at the public hearing scheduled for October 2, 2019. Should you have any questions, please do not hesitate to have staff contact me.

Sincerely,

HOLLAND & KNIGHT LLP

By: Leila M. Jackson Batties

Enclosures

Board of Zoning Adjustment of the District of Columbia September 11, 2019 Page 2

cc: Certificate of Service (w/encl via U.S. Mail and email)

Karen Thomas, D.C. Office of Planning (w/encl via email and hand delivery)

Anna Chamberlin, DDOT (w/encl via email) Aaron Zimmerman, DDOT (w/encl via email)

Advisory Neighborhood Commission 1B (w/encl via U.S. mail and email)

Commissioner James Turner, SMD 1B09 (w/encl via email)

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I hereby certify that on September 11, 2019, a copy of the foregoing application to the Board of Zoning Adjustment was served by electronic mail on the following at the addresses stated below.

Ms. Jennifer Steingasser
District of Columbia Office of Planning
1100 4th Street, SW, Suite 650E
Washington, DC 20024
jennifer.steingasser@dc.gov

Anna Chamberlin
District Department of Transportation
55 M Street, SE, Suite 400
Washington, DC 20003
anna.chamberlin@dc.gov (via email only)

Anita Norman ANC Single Member District 1B01 1b01@anc.dc.gov

Dan Orlasky ANC Single Member District 1B02 1b02@anc.dc.gov

Sedrick Muhammad ANC Single Member District 1B03 1b03@anc.dc.gov

James Cordes ANC Single Member District 1B05 1b05@anc.dc.gov

Jennifer Bristol ANC Single Member District 1B06 1b06@anc.dc.gov Josh Mater ANC Single Member District 1B08 1b08@anc.dc.gov

James A. Turner ANC Single Member District 1B09 1b09@anc.dc.gov

Danny Delaney ANC Single Member District 1B10 1b10@anc.dc.gov

Robb Hudson ANC Single Member District 1B11 1b11@anc.dc.gov

Dan Winston
ANC Single Member District 1B12
1b12@anc.dc.gov

Leila M. Jackson Batties

Lila Britis